New Road, New Journey

“Starting today, I need to forget what’s gone. Appreciate what still remains and look forward to what’s coming next.”

Every one of us is going through a difficult time right now, and our stories of brokenness may vary quite a bit. However, one concept that unites all of our broken hearts is that of optimism. So many people, including myself, focus on the negatives of our situation, re-living past nightmares and fumbling over emotions of anger and frustration. Due to this, we fail to understand that these emotions are actually doing us more bad than good – they do not help us move forward.

Yesterday, I made a probable life-changing decision to look beyond my past and to move forward.
A  f r e s h  b e g i n n i n g.
No more pondering about who’s hurt me, who’s left me, what’s happened, or any other negative thinking.
Instead, I am training myself to ignore my current circumstances. I am becoming more hopeful and faithful that this hardship is just temporary and that I will conquer it.
It has only been 2 days since I’ve started on this new ‘journey,’ yet this attitude of positivity and self-love actually made me break into a song this morning. Without my knowledge, I was singing “Unwritten” by Natasha Bedingfield – a song about breaking free and independence. When I realized that I was singing this song, I almost wanted to shriek in utter shock and joy.
It is then that I realized how much of an impact 2 days of a ‘new day, new me’ attitude has had on me.

It took me many days of tears and loneliness to finally decide that I was no longer going to continue trekking on a beaten-up road, rekindling negative emotions and thoughts.
I am now on the pursuit of happiness. Though it may be a long road, I am confident that I will finally become whom I always dreamt of being – strong, peaceful, and h a p p y.

Leave a Reply

